Footy/Soccer Tennis

Brace yourself for a new generation of sport, America. In combining two different sports the U.S. is already ambivalent to or completely uninterested in, we have discovered one of the greatest, if not the most popular, sports/games around.

In accordance with my English heritage, I will refer to it by its rightfull name, “Football-Tennis”, but you can call it “Soccer-Tennis” if you so desire.  Basically you combine a tennis court, net and rules, with a football (soccer) ball.  Originally, I played this sport/game as a kid growing up in Romania, chalking off the court in the middle of the road and doddging cars as they came by. With the discovery of tennis courts upon my move to America, the game took on a new life between myself, my brother and a few friends we recruited.

But fear not, dear reader, that this silly sport is some creation of my imgination. There is in fact, an organization, developed independatly of my input, which stages some pretty serious competitions between teams and even countries. Yes, dear reader, you could reperesent the United States in a Soccer Tennis competition. It’s not quite Beer Fest, but it’s a start.

 

“Football” comes first in the name and with good reason, because that is the foundation of the sport (I just lost half my audience). Using your footy skills, you juggle, pass, slide, head or in any way (but no hands!) propel the ball to the other side of the net, in the court, before it bounces twice on your side.

Personally, I’m not too fond of the official rules, which allow for only one touch per player, volleyball style, while I always enjoyed juggling the ball into position. Alas, minor rules disagreements aside, this game is quite awesome. On several occasions, after scaling the fence of the nearby tennis courts, and drawing the ire of a police officer for being in the park after 10 p.m., we drew crowds of perplexed amazed spectators, drawn like a moth to a flame towards our strange creation.

There’s plenty of running, kicking, and if you do it like us, screaming, crying and perhaps some bleeding. All in all, it’s great, so next time you end up near a tennis court, bring the footy ball, strap on the boots, and have a kick about.
I do wish I could show you guys a video of us playing our own way, but I was unable to get the band back together over Thanksgiving for a game, so the above example will have to do. Enjoy.

2 Responses to Footy/Soccer Tennis

  1. Kamikaze says:

    thanks for the info
    Im gonna use this in my project as refrence..
    happy new year btw 🙂

  2. Hey, I just wanted to say what a quality website. I certainly enjoyed it and found it fascinating reading. Awaiting your next post!

Leave a Reply

