Gregory versus The Rec Center

So the great question that runs rampant throughout the UT campus is which facility should I use to workout? People have their preferences for many different reasons and whether it is location, crowdedness or just ignorance to other gyms, the Rec Sports facilities host over 90 percent of the student population — and that’s a good thing.

I asked a few people whether they preferred Gregory or the Rec Center to workout or do various activities and I also asked if they had heard about any other facilities on campus like Bellmont, Anna Hiss, etc. 

The results were somehwhat split, but a recurring theme was that many peopel preferred the Rec Center to workout because it had less people and preferred Gregory for other activities like basketball, swimming and requetball. 

Of course the Rec Center does not have any swimming facilities, but many preferred Gregory for basketball because of the greater variety of gyms and competition. And of course, as I suspected, most have never been or heard of the other smaller facilities. 

Above all, it doesn’t really matter where you workout, just get out there and get that heart racing before the holiday eating season. 

I blog about Rec Sports at UT. Let me know your favorite facility and why in the comments. 

4 Responses to Gregory versus The Rec Center

  1. Erin Harris says:

    I love the image of the guy squatting 500 lbs and head butting the wall. Hilarious! Great MOS on your part!

  2. I have to agree with Erin, you had great ‘man on street’ interviews. I prefer Rec sports just because it’s less crowded compared to Gregory. Besides I look a hot mess when I’m working out, so the less people who see me when I look like a bum, the better! 🙂

  3. Bill Bowman says:

    I enjoy playing BBall at the gyms. I would say Gregory has a much higher level of competition. The Rec typically has a little older crowd and better for just shooting around.

  4. […] poor college student such as myself and cannot afford a gym membership and not going to be close to Gregory or Rec Sports during the break, then I have some great around the house workouts you can […]

Leave a Reply

